Tag Archives: Gigs

Latest Updates March 2018


I’m presenting the 7th Dimension again on BBC Radio 4 Extra for three weekends commencing on March 17th. There’s plenty of fabulous stuff for me to chat in between, including a Daphne du Maurier play with Maureen O’Brien and Dinsdale Landen and a horror story involving something being found during the digging of a tube extension (sound familiar…?). Unfortunately my links will not be on iPlayer so you’ll need to listen live!

My forthcoming book on Quatermass benefitted this month from a lengthy interview with – and the seal of approval of – Nigel Kneale’s widow Judith Kerr (who wrote The Tiger Who Came To Tea and the Mog books). She provided some fascinating insights which will doubtless delight my very patient publisher Matt West at  Miwk. I’ll be a bit quiet over the next few months whilst I crack on with the book which I’d like to finish this year.

With the wonderful Judith Kerr.

Two Interviewees from my Who’s Round podcast have died recently. It’s very sad to hear of their passing but fortunately I managed to supply obituaries for them (click on their names for their podcast, and on the paper’s name for the obituary): make-up designer Dorka Nieradzik was remembered in The Guardian and that wonderful actor Peter Miles gets an appreciation in The Herald.

I interviewed the late Dorka Nieradzik (right) and her good friend June Hudson together when they featured on my Who’s Round podcast.

I might just have had a little something to do with the latest Take Back Theatre project Ten Takes On Shelter. It’s all under wraps at the moment (appropriately, because it’s very cold) but worth getting tickets for here.

I play a 9ft tall solar space bear called Oscar McLeod in The Skies of New Earth, part of Big Finish’s Tales from New Earth boxed set which is rather fabulous. It’s a great fun part and I get some marvellous lines and the cherishable character description “ostentatiously belligerent”. I play other bits and bobs too, including the overarching alien baddie and a fellow called Dobtcheff (I know! What’s not to love?). It’s well worth your time and available here. I’m sticking a couple of reviews down here too:

“Toby Hadoke steals the show – Oscar is likely to go down as a fan favourite and will be a perfectly fine reason to start listening”
– Blogtor Who

“A shout out to Toby Hadoke who plays a plethora of parts. I instantly recognised his voice as the debate moderator. But even though I have interviewed him and met him a few times, I would never have guessed him as the Scandinavian Silver haired bear Oscar. A man of many talents indeed and a stand-out character to a lead in any future sets.”  
– Doctor Squee, indiemacuser.co.uk

The fabulous, thought provoking and brutally funny Sean McLoughlin

I’m MCing at the Frog and Bucket on 16/17th March, plus my usual stints at the 99 Club and the Comedy Store. This month at XS Malarkey the headliners whom I will be introducing will be the erudite Matt Stellingwerf, the brutally honest and sometimes dark Sean McLoughlin and the smart and likeable Glenn Moore : rare talents all. More details at the XS Malarkey Website. 

Gig List

Here’s where I’ll be over the next few months, come and say hello. If it is a Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf or Now I Know My BBC date, more detailed venue info can be found on the relevant pages on the website.

Mon 24th May
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf – Pitlochry

Tues 25th May
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Dave Williams headlining)

Friday 28th – Saturday 29th May
Frog and Bucket, Preston (MC)

Sunday 30th May
Comedy Store, Manchester (New Stuff – MC)

Tuesday 1st June
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Carey Marx headlining)

Saturday 5th June
Now I Know My BBC – Preview, Hartlepool

Sunday 6th June
Now I Know My BBC – Preview, Harlow

Monday 7th June
Now I Know My BBC – Preview, Manchester (XS Malarkey)

Tuesday 8th June
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, John Scott headlining)

Thursday 10th June
Now I Know My BBC (Preview) – Keighley

Saturday 12th June
Downstairs At The King’s Head, Crouch End (MC)

Sunday 13th June
Comedy Store, Manchester (New Stuff, MC)

Monday 14th June
Now I Know My BBC (Preview) – Holmfirth

Tuesday 15th June
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Wil Hodgson headlining)

Thurs 17th – Sat 19th June
TV Warm-Up, University Challenge, Granada Studios

Sun 20th June
Downstairs At The King’s Head (MC)

Tuesday 22nd June
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Paul Sinha Edinburgh Preview)

24th June
Now I Know My BBC (Preview) – Chesterfield

Friday 25th June
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf – Bath

Saturday 26th June
Downstairs At The Kings Head, Crouch End (MC)

Sunday 27th June
Comedy Store, Manchester (New Stuff, MC)

Tuesday 29th June
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, big, super, special guest doing an Edinburgh preview)

Friday 2nd July
Frog and Bucket, Blackburn (MC)

Saturday 3rd July
Opus, Printworks, Manchester (MC)

Monday, 5th July

Thursday 8th July
Now I Know My BBC (Preview) – Huddersfield

Sunday 11th July
Comedy Store, Manchester (New Stuff, MC)

Tuesday 13th July
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Jason Cook Edinburgh Preview)

Wednesday 14th July
Robin Ince’s Book Club, Bloomsbury Theatre (with Josie Long, Phill Jupitus and others)

Tuesday 20th July
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Markus Birdman and Brendon Burns Edinburgh Previews)

Thursday 22nd July
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf – Lowestoft

Sunday 25th July
Now I Know My BBC (Preview) – Lancaster

Tuesday 27th July
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Seymour Mace, Gary Delaney Edinburgh Previews)

Wed 28th July
tbc – Now I Know My BBC (Preview)

Fri 30th July
Now I Know My BBC (Preview) – Worksop

Sat 31st July
tbc – Now I Know My BBC (Preview)

Tues 3rd August
XS Malarkey, Manchester

August 2010

Edinburgh Fringe

5th – 29th August, Underbelly, Cowgate, 6.55pm
Toby Hadoke – Now I Know My BBC
Brand new Edinburgh show!

I’ll also be taking part in various other gigs during the Festival; – I’m already booked in for loads of F***ing Funny ForĀ A Fiver slots, and I’ll be doing Jason Cook’s late night show. Just keep an eye out, you’ll find me.

Plus –
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf returns to Edinburgh for one night only!
August 20th at the massive Edinburgh International Conference Centre.

For those not going to Edinburgh, remember to visit XS Malarkey every Tuseday:

10th August
XS Malarkey (MC Dan Nightingale, Brendan Riley headlining)

17th August
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC Dand Nightingale, Paul Pirie headlining)

24th August
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC Dan Nightingale)

Monday 30th August
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf – Newcastle

Tuesday 31st August
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC)

Friday 3rd Sept
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf – Cineology Convention

Tuesday 7th Sept
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Andrew O’Neill headlining)

Friday 10th Sept – Saturday 11th Sept
Covent Garden (MC)

Sunday 12th Sept
Comedy Store, Manchester (New Stuff MC)

Tuesday 14th Sept
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Rob Deering headlining)

Saturday 18th Sept
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf – Corsham

Tuesday 21st Sept
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Kent Valentine headlining)

Thur 23rd – Sat 25th Sept
Frog and Bucket, Manchester (MC)

Sun 26th September
Comedy Store, Manchester (New Stuff, MC)

Tues 28th September
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Super Special Birthday bash – 3 headliners and lots of fun!)

Friday 1st October
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf – Cranleigh, Surrey

Oct – Dec gigs to follow.