Tag Archives: Stand-Up Comedy

PSORIASIS SHOUT OUT 2016

PSORIASIS SHOUT OUT 2016

a7821f03887f0e7fbb64e1e8758bee74I’m up to all sorts during this year’s Psoriasis Shout Out. I’ll be giving short talks at a couple of seminars in Manchester and London where people far more qualified than I will be on hand to provide credible testimony and scientific insight. I’ll be giving the patient perspective which is basically “Ow. Itch. Bloody Hell.” I might tell a joke though. There’s even talk of me taking part in a fashion show which I seem to have agreed to do without actually agreeing to do it.

I will definitely be doing that on June 19th at an extra XS Malarkey night – it’s a charity gig to coincide with the shout out and all profits will go to the Psoriasis Association. The line-up is damn good – Ben Lawes returns to the club for the first time in a while, and he is joined by John Cooper, the brilliant Newcastle comic who did a one-man show at the Edinburgh Fringe about our sister skin condition, eczema. Topping the bill is simply the best one-liner merchant in the business, the critically acclaimed Gary Delaney who has appeared on 8 Out Of 10 Cats and Mock The Week among many others.

The Shout Out was very successful last time: I got feedback from lots of people who – until they attended – didn’t know (a) much about the condition’s links to mental health problems (b) that there was more treatment available than time consuming and relatively ineffective creams, and (c) that They Are Not Alone. So if you know someone who has it who wants some proper insight into the condition (or wants to demonstrate such insight to their friends and loved ones – equally important) then point them in the direction of the Psoriasis Shout Out website (linked in the first paragraph of this post) for details of what’s going on.

Tickets for the comedy night are £5 and £3 and are only available on the door one the night. The show starts at 8pm.

More details at the XS Malarkey website.

The Psoriasis Shout Out is 18th-24th June.

 

MANY HAPPY MALARKEYS

Next week, it’s the anniversary of when I began a comedy night that I hoped would give me regular employment for the next two and a half months. On October 4th, XS Malarkey reopens to celebrate its fourteenth birthday.

We’d shut down for the first time over the summer as our venue, The Queen Of Hearts, was being refurbished, and this gave us plenty of time to consider the club’s future. I’d not been especially happy at the Queen as the venue never really seemed to have its (ahem) heart in the club and with a new brewery taking over I decided to reclaim Malarkey’s independent status. We’ve always worked best when not answerable to an area manager who knows nothing about comedy, hence our happiest times being at Remedy (a fantastic freehold venue closed by a short-sighted council).

It'll be a bit tidier than this when we open.

After some soul searching and a fabulous meeting of minds, we have opted to relocate to Platt Chapel, an ethical venue with a real desire to create something of an artistic hub in South Manchester in these financially trying times. They’re very much into audience interaction. You want real ale behind the bar? Great – let’s organise a tasting and you can vote on your favourite. Obviously, some of these things will take time to sort out, but there’s a real opportunity for you – as well as us – to create the environment here.

I’ll carry on booking the very best comedians. You just need to keep coming. We have always run on a not-for-profit basis, and we continue to do so. We have no budget, we are entirely dependent on ticket sales, which is why we rely on you to spread the word. In the current cash-strapped climate our prices of £3 (members) and £5 (non-members) for the level of comics we get is unparalleled. We’ve got an illustrious bevy of acts for our birthday, and in the next 6 weeks I can promise at least two high profile TV names. I can’t say when and who, because they’re playing the gig precisely so they can work in front of the XS crowd, and not some interlopers who’ve been lured by a famous person. One act we can announce is Stewart Francis, a Malarkey veteran (he played during that initial two-and-a-half month run that helped put us on the map) also seen on Mock The Week, who’ll be popping in at the end of November. We have a deliberate policy of promoting new talent alongside established acts, and don’t need to play it as safe as some clubs are obliged to at big weekend gigs. That means you never quite know what’s going to happen at Malarkey, except that it’ll be funny and cheap. And that I’ll probably be annoyed about something (just because I generally am).

Stewart Francis - A Malarkey Advocate

So please spread the word and get it out there that Malarkey is here to stay, and that there’s not a better value, high quality comedy night anywhere else in the country.

www.xsmalarkey.com

More pictures and infor on Facebook. Be sure and “Like” us: it’s terribly good for our self esteem.

Gig List

Here’s where I’ll be over the next few months, come and say hello. If it is a Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf or Now I Know My BBC date, more detailed venue info can be found on the relevant pages on the website.

Mon 24th May
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf – Pitlochry

Tues 25th May
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Dave Williams headlining)

Friday 28th – Saturday 29th May
Frog and Bucket, Preston (MC)

Sunday 30th May
Comedy Store, Manchester (New Stuff – MC)

Tuesday 1st June
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Carey Marx headlining)

Saturday 5th June
Now I Know My BBC – Preview, Hartlepool

Sunday 6th June
Now I Know My BBC – Preview, Harlow

Monday 7th June
Now I Know My BBC – Preview, Manchester (XS Malarkey)

Tuesday 8th June
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, John Scott headlining)

Thursday 10th June
Now I Know My BBC (Preview) – Keighley

Saturday 12th June
Downstairs At The King’s Head, Crouch End (MC)

Sunday 13th June
Comedy Store, Manchester (New Stuff, MC)

Monday 14th June
Now I Know My BBC (Preview) – Holmfirth

Tuesday 15th June
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Wil Hodgson headlining)

Thurs 17th – Sat 19th June
TV Warm-Up, University Challenge, Granada Studios

Sun 20th June
Downstairs At The King’s Head (MC)

Tuesday 22nd June
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Paul Sinha Edinburgh Preview)

24th June
Now I Know My BBC (Preview) – Chesterfield

Friday 25th June
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf – Bath

Saturday 26th June
Downstairs At The Kings Head, Crouch End (MC)

Sunday 27th June
Comedy Store, Manchester (New Stuff, MC)

Tuesday 29th June
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, big, super, special guest doing an Edinburgh preview)

Friday 2nd July
Frog and Bucket, Blackburn (MC)

Saturday 3rd July
Opus, Printworks, Manchester (MC)

Monday, 5th July
XS Malarkey, Manchester (WORLD CUP AVOIDING MONDAY NIGHT GIG!)

Thursday 8th July
Now I Know My BBC (Preview) – Huddersfield

Sunday 11th July
Comedy Store, Manchester (New Stuff, MC)

Tuesday 13th July
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Jason Cook Edinburgh Preview)

Wednesday 14th July
Robin Ince’s Book Club, Bloomsbury Theatre (with Josie Long, Phill Jupitus and others)

Tuesday 20th July
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Markus Birdman and Brendon Burns Edinburgh Previews)

Thursday 22nd July
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf – Lowestoft

Sunday 25th July
Now I Know My BBC (Preview) – Lancaster

Tuesday 27th July
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Seymour Mace, Gary Delaney Edinburgh Previews)

Wed 28th July
tbc – Now I Know My BBC (Preview)

Fri 30th July
Now I Know My BBC (Preview) – Worksop

Sat 31st July
tbc – Now I Know My BBC (Preview)

Tues 3rd August
XS Malarkey, Manchester

August 2010

Edinburgh Fringe

5th – 29th August, Underbelly, Cowgate, 6.55pm
Toby Hadoke – Now I Know My BBC
Brand new Edinburgh show!

I’ll also be taking part in various other gigs during the Festival; – I’m already booked in for loads of F***ing Funny For A Fiver slots, and I’ll be doing Jason Cook’s late night show. Just keep an eye out, you’ll find me.

Plus –
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf returns to Edinburgh for one night only!
August 20th at the massive Edinburgh International Conference Centre.

For those not going to Edinburgh, remember to visit XS Malarkey every Tuseday:

10th August
XS Malarkey (MC Dan Nightingale, Brendan Riley headlining)

17th August
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC Dand Nightingale, Paul Pirie headlining)

24th August
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC Dan Nightingale)

Monday 30th August
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf – Newcastle

Tuesday 31st August
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC)

Friday 3rd Sept
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf – Cineology Convention

Tuesday 7th Sept
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Andrew O’Neill headlining)

Friday 10th Sept – Saturday 11th Sept
Covent Garden (MC)

Sunday 12th Sept
Comedy Store, Manchester (New Stuff MC)

Tuesday 14th Sept
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Rob Deering headlining)

Saturday 18th Sept
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf – Corsham

Tuesday 21st Sept
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Kent Valentine headlining)

Thur 23rd – Sat 25th Sept
Frog and Bucket, Manchester (MC)

Sun 26th September
Comedy Store, Manchester (New Stuff, MC)

Tues 28th September
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Super Special Birthday bash – 3 headliners and lots of fun!)

Friday 1st October
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf – Cranleigh, Surrey

Oct – Dec gigs to follow.