Tag Archives: Brendon Burns

Previews, Moths, And A Forthcoming Book!

A brief insight into how my mind works. I have done five previews on the trot for my new show, Now I Know My BBC. They’ve generally gone well, but there’s still a long way to go. Plenty of funnies, and the beginnings of a decent story, but it really needs hacking about and bashing into shape. Which is what I should be doing now. So I’m writing this instead. Part of my brain is kidding me that this will “get me in the mood” for writing and I will thus be industrious later and really lick the new hour into shape. The other part of my brain will convince me that in doing this, I have done some work, so can have a cup of tea instead of doing anything else for now. Quite why my personality forces me into putting everything off until the last minute is anyone’s guess. It’s hardly a great advert for evolution. Anyway, Hartlepool was the first of the previews – hot, sweaty, and an hour and a half, but a great audience who allowed me to veer from subject to subject. Constructive advice and support from my friends at Tachyon TV was much appreciated. Harlow the next day, a lovely, proper comedy club run by the estimable John Mann, which ran to time and helped shape the story. The beginning needed excessive pruning, so that I did for the next day’s gig at XS Malarkey. It ran to an hour and forty minutes! I’d expected a handful of faithful supporters at this gig, but no more (after all, they can see me every week). And over one hundred and fifty came – so thank you so much Malarkey massive. Even if the show was a bit wayward. Chris Brooker’s Keighley gig was packed to the rafters, and they were a terrific bunch who helped me and Matt Green deliver our previews and really test the material. Chris is obviously a well loved and expert host. Holmfirth was a sell out, and a beautiful town with a fantastic audience. A proper arts festival well run and well attended. Then Anthony Brown’s wonderful Chesterfield gig brought me down to Earth – a great, supportive and joyous audience, who listened well and smiled, but were a clear sign that I need to get more laugh-out-loud moments and to sell certain bits better.

As mentioned in my previous blog, Moths came to beautiful Pitlochry, where the audience eased me through effortlessly, and boasted a pleasingly eclectic age range. Kudos to the group of Canadian ladies who had never seen Doctor Who in their lives but went with it, and to the two lads (Darren and Kieron) whose lovely Mum had driven them for two hours to make the gig. I also returned to Bath with the show, to the fantastic Ustinov theatre, where I once again sold out (it’s my third visit to that venue – and last time they added a matinee too, and I’ve also done it at the Rondo up the road: so thank you Bath!). Witty sci-fi writer and loveable reprobate Steve O’Brien was my host – it’s always a joy to see him and his lovely fiancée Britt.

The audience are asked to leave feedback at the Ustinov Theatre. A scary policy!

It’s been pretty busy – I’m midway through two DVD documentaries, which I have alluded to before. I will of course, publish accounts of those once the titles are in the shops. I hope people enjoy them. I’ve also done a couple more commentaries, which are always a pleasure if not a little nerve racking.

A few more previews have been announced for Now I Know My BBC, as has some very exciting news. Doctor Who writer Robert Shearman (the brains behind the classic Christopher Eccleston episode Dalek) and I have written a three volume tome entitled Running Through Corridors. We spent last year watching Doctor Who in chronological order, two episodes a day, and sent each other mini essays of our thoughts. The intention being to rediscover our love for the show during Doctor Who’s gap year: and our principle remit being to accentuate the positive as much as possible. Published by Mad Nowegian Press, Volume One will cover the 1960s. It’s only available to order on Amazon US at the moment, but I’m sure that will change soon. It is published in December, although advance copies will be available at Chicago TARDIS this Thanksgiving.

XS Malarkey has had some terrific Edinburgh previews – Paul Sinha exuding his sharp intellect and deep humanity in a brilliantly wrought hour that is certain to garner plaudits. The following week we had a secret special guest, and hopefully the audience were delighted when the majestic John Bishop took to the stage from a brilliant set that displayed his usual apparently effortless hold over an audience. Not bad for £3! Our next one is on a Monday to avoid the date that was England’s potential semi-final at the World Cup (don’t laugh, that seemed like a distinct possibility three weeks ago). Rob Rouse is at that one, with the likes of Brendon Burns, Jason Cook, Seymour Mace, Gary Delaney and Alun Cochrane to follow. Flattering to get such extraordinary talents at our little club.

And I note that English tennis hope Andy Murray is now Scottish tennis also-ran Andy Murray. What a fickle world we live in.

Gig List

Here’s where I’ll be over the next few months, come and say hello. If it is a Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf or Now I Know My BBC date, more detailed venue info can be found on the relevant pages on the website.

Mon 24th May
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf – Pitlochry

Tues 25th May
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Dave Williams headlining)

Friday 28th – Saturday 29th May
Frog and Bucket, Preston (MC)

Sunday 30th May
Comedy Store, Manchester (New Stuff – MC)

Tuesday 1st June
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Carey Marx headlining)

Saturday 5th June
Now I Know My BBC – Preview, Hartlepool

Sunday 6th June
Now I Know My BBC – Preview, Harlow

Monday 7th June
Now I Know My BBC – Preview, Manchester (XS Malarkey)

Tuesday 8th June
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, John Scott headlining)

Thursday 10th June
Now I Know My BBC (Preview) – Keighley

Saturday 12th June
Downstairs At The King’s Head, Crouch End (MC)

Sunday 13th June
Comedy Store, Manchester (New Stuff, MC)

Monday 14th June
Now I Know My BBC (Preview) – Holmfirth

Tuesday 15th June
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Wil Hodgson headlining)

Thurs 17th – Sat 19th June
TV Warm-Up, University Challenge, Granada Studios

Sun 20th June
Downstairs At The King’s Head (MC)

Tuesday 22nd June
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Paul Sinha Edinburgh Preview)

24th June
Now I Know My BBC (Preview) – Chesterfield

Friday 25th June
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf – Bath

Saturday 26th June
Downstairs At The Kings Head, Crouch End (MC)

Sunday 27th June
Comedy Store, Manchester (New Stuff, MC)

Tuesday 29th June
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, big, super, special guest doing an Edinburgh preview)

Friday 2nd July
Frog and Bucket, Blackburn (MC)

Saturday 3rd July
Opus, Printworks, Manchester (MC)

Monday, 5th July
XS Malarkey, Manchester (WORLD CUP AVOIDING MONDAY NIGHT GIG!)

Thursday 8th July
Now I Know My BBC (Preview) – Huddersfield

Sunday 11th July
Comedy Store, Manchester (New Stuff, MC)

Tuesday 13th July
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Jason Cook Edinburgh Preview)

Wednesday 14th July
Robin Ince’s Book Club, Bloomsbury Theatre (with Josie Long, Phill Jupitus and others)

Tuesday 20th July
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Markus Birdman and Brendon Burns Edinburgh Previews)

Thursday 22nd July
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf – Lowestoft

Sunday 25th July
Now I Know My BBC (Preview) – Lancaster

Tuesday 27th July
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Seymour Mace, Gary Delaney Edinburgh Previews)

Wed 28th July
tbc – Now I Know My BBC (Preview)

Fri 30th July
Now I Know My BBC (Preview) – Worksop

Sat 31st July
tbc – Now I Know My BBC (Preview)

Tues 3rd August
XS Malarkey, Manchester

August 2010

Edinburgh Fringe

5th – 29th August, Underbelly, Cowgate, 6.55pm
Toby Hadoke – Now I Know My BBC
Brand new Edinburgh show!

I’ll also be taking part in various other gigs during the Festival; – I’m already booked in for loads of F***ing Funny For A Fiver slots, and I’ll be doing Jason Cook’s late night show. Just keep an eye out, you’ll find me.

Plus –
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf returns to Edinburgh for one night only!
August 20th at the massive Edinburgh International Conference Centre.

For those not going to Edinburgh, remember to visit XS Malarkey every Tuseday:

10th August
XS Malarkey (MC Dan Nightingale, Brendan Riley headlining)

17th August
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC Dand Nightingale, Paul Pirie headlining)

24th August
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC Dan Nightingale)

Monday 30th August
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf – Newcastle

Tuesday 31st August
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC)

Friday 3rd Sept
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf – Cineology Convention

Tuesday 7th Sept
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Andrew O’Neill headlining)

Friday 10th Sept – Saturday 11th Sept
Covent Garden (MC)

Sunday 12th Sept
Comedy Store, Manchester (New Stuff MC)

Tuesday 14th Sept
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Rob Deering headlining)

Saturday 18th Sept
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf – Corsham

Tuesday 21st Sept
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Kent Valentine headlining)

Thur 23rd – Sat 25th Sept
Frog and Bucket, Manchester (MC)

Sun 26th September
Comedy Store, Manchester (New Stuff, MC)

Tues 28th September
XS Malarkey, Manchester (MC, Super Special Birthday bash – 3 headliners and lots of fun!)

Friday 1st October
Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf – Cranleigh, Surrey

Oct – Dec gigs to follow.